Coffee & TV /EN/

25.02.2018

Using a reference to Blur's lyrics Coffee & TV - as addictive as coffee can get, I consider the phenomenon so much more than a fad - it is a life philosophy. Quite unsurprisingly, the best coffee is prepared in Japan, which is known for its tea history and ceremonies.

I decided to dig deep in my own consciousness to investigate what it is about coffee that has made me fall head over heels in love with it. Until recently I would have sworn by a tiny Italian espresso to be on Olympus of the coffee art. Only when I had to look for alternative ways of preparation was I forced to re-evaluate my stance.

The beauty of manual brewing lies in the process itself. It requires more than a mere pushing of a button on an espresso machine - it needs your absolute devotion. I believe this might be the rationale behind me totally having got lost in it. Every time I prepare a new batch of fresh coffee, the result may differ, which brings a certain degree of excitement. Now I seem to be leading a very boring life having compared coffee making to being thrilled, right? Don't be deceived though - achieving a good taste can bring a very distinctively satisfying sensation when you have high-quality (means expensive) coffee which you could spoil by not following the routine correctly.

Look at the photos to see how I prepare coffee with my Chemex, a classic coffee maker. ​

The shapes of the vessel remind of a beaker taken from a chemical laboratory, which is not a coinsidence. According to the Museum of Modern Art in New York City, Peter Schlumbohm created Chemex in 1941 following the Bauhaus philosophy and artistry. The designer was a chemist himself, who emigrated to the USA and was heavily influenced by the German school of art. Now Chemex is in the permanent collection of the aforementioned museum. ​​

Besides Chemex, I have been using equipment by a Japanese manufacturer Hario - the scales, the pot and the grinder. ​​

I am not exactly sure what it is that brings me the pure pleasure from coffee drinking. Be it the fact that I always have a moment of total relaxation while sitting on a couch or the joy from preparing it, manual brewing gives me this feeling of having a skill. I might have grown into the person who has shifted the focus from having things to learning things. And I am really enjoying it.


The Aesthetic Eye. All rights reserved.
Vytvořeno službou Webnode
Vytvořte si webové stránky zdarma! Tento web je vytvořený pomocí Webnode. Vytvořte si vlastní stránky zdarma ještě dnes! Vytvořit stránky