-2017- /EN/

30.12.2017

With the end of the year and the beginning of the new one people have this weird habit of summarizing and reflecting on the previous year. Why are we so obsessed with quantifying what the year has brought and taken away? Obviously, we are human beings who have got used to living in cyclical patterns over the time since the calendar and the concept of a year were introduced. With this notion strongly rooted in our blood we tend to perceive the year as a measurable unit of time in terms of both experience and experiences. We interpret the result as either disappointing or successful and tend to attach a lot more importance to it than it actually deserves, especially in case of a negative outcome. This quite goes hand in hand with making New Year's resolutions, which can bring about even more disappointment. Every new cigarette, another cupcake or an unclaimed voucher to a local gym adds up to the despair we feel by the end of January.

What about me, do you ask? While I am aware of the pointlessness and a certain degree of toxicity of such a mindset, I somehow can't help evaluating the ending year as well. It must be my character trait, which makes me focus more on the negative when it comes to me, that I concentrate on the absolute worst 'highlights' of the year while I (should) know there have been so many good and very important things as well.

If I should characterize the outcome, it is clear that the things the year has brought are and possibly will be life-changing, whether in the positive sense of the word or not. Either way it means having to face and accept some changes in life. Change is traditionally perceived as something unfavourable. The human race seems to be in denial of change, which is why we cling on to family photos or why we often feel nostalgic when eating our childhood favourite meal. The denial becomes crystal-clear whenever one puts on some wrinkle-cream or covers their grey hair. We refuse to age as well as to accept that change is inevitable. We don't realize how big a source of stress it can be for us. If I should make one New Year's resolution, it would be to make my peace with change and view it as a rather promising phenomenon. I believe this would be by far my most difficult resolution.

If I have one message to you for the new year, it is simple: Let's be hopeful. If we have a reason to smile, if we are able to appreciate little things like a sunset or a yummy dessert, we'll be fine. I'll be fine.

The Aesthetic Eye. All rights reserved.
Vytvořeno službou Webnode
Vytvořte si webové stránky zdarma! Tento web je vytvořený pomocí Webnode. Vytvořte si vlastní stránky zdarma ještě dnes! Vytvořit stránky